Story 5

Click on the sentence that best describes the main idea of the story or paragraph.

The United States of America is made of fifty different states. The United States of America is made up of fifty different states.  Some of the states, like Texas and California, are quite large.  Other states like Rhode Island and Delaware, are very small.  Two states are further away than the main forty-eight states.  Hawaii is made up of several islands in the Pacific Ocean.  Alaska is further north and next to another country called Canada.  The United States also has some territories  that are further away from it, such as the island of Guam and Puerto Rico.  The different states are all very unique.  Some are warm and sunny most of the year, and others are cold.  All of the states have their own unique culture and characteristics, but are part of the same country.
Alaska is a territory of the United States.
All of the states have very cold weather.


Supervisor's Office

Journalist's Desk

Dark Room

Publishing & Layout


This site is no longer being maintained, but will remain online for the use of educators.